Night and Light

1. Glowstick Box (Moving Camera)
2. 6/2/2012, 11 PM
3. Idaho Falls, ID
4. f/3.5
5. 10″
6. Canon EOS Rebel T3, Glowsticks
Truthfully, the light graffiti activities have been my least favorite of the semester. It may have been my lack of good tools (limited to glowsticks which leave trails even when you don’t want them to) but I could not get into these shots. All creative attempts turned out poor. This was my favorite of a lot of pictures I didn’t like. After getting tired of the more creative attempts, I laid the four glowsticks on the ground in a “+” shape and used this to try to make a 3D cube. It worked to a point. I disliked the fast that when the shutter was open, I lost all visuals from the camera for the duration of the shot. It made this difficult to create cleanly.

1. Green Signature (Light Graffiti)
2. 6/2/2012, 10 PM
3.Idaho Falls, ID
4. f/3.5
5. 1/20
6. Canon EOS Rebel T3, Tripod, Glowsticks
My 2nd least favorite picture. Don’t worry, I like all the rest. After hours of attempting various shots with my glowsticks, this was the only semi-intentional looking shot I ended up with. The composition is not great, but you can see my name. That sure beats failed sailboats, people, fireworks, halos, wings, works, houses, etc. This was done with a single glowstick in a slow, careful, backwards writing pattern with a tripod.

1. Tail Lights
2. 6/2/12, 10 PM
3. Idaho Falls, ID
4. f/9.0
5. 10″
6. Canon EOS Rebel T3, Tripod
On to better things. This shot is not great, but it is at least a decent looking picture. In the passenger seat of my wife’s car (as to not to be obvious about snapping shots of passing cars) I carefully and partially set up the tripod and angled my camera sharply out the window. I had missed most of the traffic for the evening. I was able to get some lines across the picture and had to bring them out more in post. Played with the adjustment brush in CR to brighten the sky, darken the bright indoor lights, and bring out a few details.

1. Pipe Falls
2. 6/2/12, 11 PM
3. Idaho Falls, ID
4. f/5.6
5. 15″
6. Canon EOS Rebel T3, Tripod, Spotlight
My favorite shot of the day. This post gets the best and the worst of the excursion. I found this at Snake River Landing on the walking paths. A long shutter speed, ten second timer, and a spotlight all allowed me to get this shot. I pulsed the spotlight directly down into each water stream lightly, one at a time. I tried other effects, but this one looked less faked and more magical.

 


One response to “Night and Light

  • Jennifer Keetch

    Your night pictures are incredible! They are so cool. Seriously. You are a great photographer. Your border edits as well. Your shots are well composed. I like how the glowing box was in the center. It would be cool to see how it would look off to the left or right a bit more. Either way it looks good. Great job!

Leave a comment